Where Have All the Good Authors Gone?

No offense to Stephenie Meyer, Suzanne Collins or E.L. James, but I really wish someone would come along and create a literary phenomenon that was so big, it simply wiped them from the map of literary discussions. I am getting sick and tired of hearing about the repressed sexual anxieties of Bella Swan, the emotionally wishy-washy, child-slaughtering Katniss, and the sadistic woman-beater Christian Grey and his brain-dead punching bag of a wife Anastasia. Just listing the characters I feel like I need to scrub my brain with bleach. I feel dumber now than I did five minutes ago just for realizing that I’ve spent enough time with the material to actually know such details. (In the interest of full disclosure, I have read the Meyer books, the Collins books, and the first James book. I will not be reading the second and third – my brain can only handle so much abuse.)

I mean, Harry Potter may not be the most exquisitely written works of English literature, but at least they are infinitely more readable and enduring than 50 Shades of Hungry Eclipse Games. I considered using this entry to actually explain how far the world of literary excitement seems to have fallen, but a fellow blogger, Alice, has already spent many, many pages on demonstrating just how bad things have gotten. For those who love witty snark, you should really get over there and check it out. She does a much better job of deconstructing the insanity than I ever could.

Anyway, I’m off to go find some more vintage Bradbury or early King (whose novellas are incredible). Maybe reading enough well-written literature will help to sooth the scars inflicted upon my brain from all the scrubbing I had to do after reading E.L. James.

5 comments on “Where Have All the Good Authors Gone?

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I actually thought The Hunger Games was good. Odd perspective to write from but fast paced. Never have I encountered a book were I had to keep turning the pages.

  2. Of the three, Collins is easily the most palatable to read. I still wouldn’t go so far as to call it quality writing, but it is a far sight better than the others. My issues with Collins happen to go beyond the quality of writing, but I was saving that for another post. I cannot disagree; she does provide a narrative pace that makes the book fly by.

  3. Thank you for the mention. I liked Hunger Games too. It’s not as if she had a choice about killing others. I guess she could have stood there and let them kill her.

    • It seems my post about the HUnger Games will have to be bumped up on my list of prioity topics to write about. But, you’re right, Katniss did not have much choice in the killing department.

  4. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

