Agents of Change

So then, where was I? Oh yes, now I remember – that non-epiphanal moment of clarity.

Have you ever had one of those moments where, you find yourself sitting there, looking at a situation, fully understanding how bad it is, and realize, “Hey, this is just wrong! And this is why.”? I’m pretty sure we all have. Such a moment is one of the primary reasons I am doubling up on my studies to become an instructor of English as well as a writer. Now, I have no illusions that by entering the teaching workforce, that I am going to make a difference in the grand scheme of things. But it is entirely possible, and even likely, that I could make a difference for one or two students. Perhaps I could even make a difference for a small handful. You know what? I’m okay with that. Even if I can only make a difference one time, for one student, I have still made a difference.

But what do you do when you realize that there is absolutely nothing you can do to make a difference? Now, I’m not talking about issues such as global warming or the American economy; issues beyond the scope of any one person. I’m talking about issues where one person, or at most a small group of people, actually does have the power to make a difference. What do you do when the only people currently in a position to make a positive difference are the very people making things worse?

I’ve heard it suggested that starting with a grassroots movement is effective if the cause is truly important. But in practice, I have yet to see it work. There is one solution, the Mark Cuban solution. When something does not seem right, buy it and put someone in place to fix it. However, as I look around, I don’t see any spare billionaires with the time and passion on their hands. Such moneymen usually are too busy making more money. So I guess the real solution then is winning a mega lottery. When I was 19, my numbers came up for the lottery jackpot. Unfortunately I was broke and had not bought a ticket. I’m not going to try and figure the astronomical odds that would need to be beat in order for my numbers to come up a second time.

I suppose there is always running for Governor. That would put me in a position to make my voice carry weight enough to be heard. Unfortunately, I would need to win the lottery to do that as well. Furthermore, with my sort of history, there’s zero chance I could ever win, no matter how much money I had.

So what does one do? Well, I suppose the y blog about it while they hold out hope that they’ll be accepted for the editorial position they applied for at the newspaper.

Leave a Reply

